AIADMK to continue alliance with BJP for 2021 Tamil Nadu assembly polls

CM Palaniswami said he is confident that the AIADMK-BJP alliance will win more seats and retain the power in Tamil Nadu, which will go to polls in about six months.

The ruling AIADMK will continue its alliance with the BJP for next year’s Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami and his deputy O Pannerselvam have confirmed. Tamil Nadu goes to polls in about six months.

The announcement was made at a government function attended by Union Home Minister Amit Shah. CM Palaniswami said he is confident that the AIADMK-BJP alliance will win more seats and retain the power in the state.

The announcement also put an end to all speculation that the AIADMK might part ways with the BJP following their dismal performance in the state during 2019 Lok Sabha elections and also due to the recent Vetrivel Yatra controversy which made leaders from both camps point fingers at each other.

Shah landed in Chennai on Saturday as part of his two-day visit to inaugurate Rs 67,378 crore worth of developmental projects. Addressing the gathering, Shah said Tamil Nadu is making great progress under the leadership of Palaniswami and Paneerselvam.

Pannerselvam, on the other hand, thanked the Home Minister for laying foundations for new projects. “This event stands as a fine example of how a constructive relationship between the central and the state government pays rich dividends to the people,” he added.

CM Palaniswami said his state benefited immensely from the steps taken by the central government. “I must congratulate and thank the central government for the post-Covid-19 economic recovery through multiple stimulus packages. Tamil Nadu benefited through the steps taken by the government of India. Amma’s government has taken various measures to control the spread of Covid-19 in Tamil Nadu,” he said.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, despite the speculation that AIADMK will join with BJP, the former went alone and swept the polls by winning 37 out of 39 seats. With former union minister Pon Radhakrishnan’s victory in Kanyakumari, BJP managed to clinch one seat.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, following the demise of AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa, AIADMK had joined forces with the NDA alliance. However, it suffered a drubbing at the hands of the DMK-Congress alliance and was able to secure just one seat in Theni. This prompted AIADMK to keep BJP at bay in the bypolls which were held later that year.

The Indian Express
Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button